Group photo of MLA staff


About | HiStory | Staff & Board of DirectorsCommittees & Work GroupsPolicies and FinancialsDonate | Contact Us

MLA Staff and Board

MLA Staff

Debbie Mikula headshot

Deborah E. Mikula
Executive Director
(517) 881-1266
[email protected]

Rachel Ash headshot

Rachel Ash
Membership and Communications Director
(517) 881-6652
[email protected]

Lisa Buttigieg headshot

Lisa Buttigieg
Administrative Assistant
(517) 881-1683
[email protected]

Ryan Logan headshot

Ryan Logan
Graphic Designer
(517) 394-2774
[email protected]

Keeley Briggs headshot

Keeley Briggs
Database Coordinator
(517) 881-0496
[email protected]

Amber Sheerin Headshot

Amber Sheerin
Program and Event Director
(517) 881-3194
[email protected]

MLA Interns

Interested in interning with MLA? Click here to learn more about this opportunity. 

Riz Hatton Sophie Techentin Kara MacKenzie Trinity Jones Hannah O'Malley Megan Peterson

Riz Hatton
Social Media Strategist Intern
Fall Semester 2021

Sophie Techentin
Social Media Strategist Intern
Winter Semester 2022

Kara MacKenzie
Social Media Strategist Intern
Summer Semester 2022

Trinity Jones
Social Media Strategist Intern
Fall Semester 2022

Hannah O'Malley
Social Media Strategist Intern
Fall Semester 2022

Megan Peterson
Event Coordination Intern
Fall Semester 2022


Board of Directors 2022-2023

Scott Duimstra Headshot

Scott Duimstra 
Library Director  
Capital Area District Libraries

Kristin Shelley headshot

Kristin Shelley 
East Lansing Public Library

Angela Badke headshot

Angela Badke
Tribal Librarian 
Ojibwa Community Library

Dillon Geshel headshot

Dillon Geshel 
Superiorland Library Cooperative

Anne Heidemann headshot

Anne Heidemann
Tribal Librarian 
Saginaw Chippewa Tribal Library

Jessica Keyser headshot

Jessica Keyser 
Grosse Pointe Public Library

Jenny Marr headshot

Jenny Marr
Ferndale Area District Library

Deborah E. Mikula headshot

Deborah E. Mikula 
Executive Director
Michigan Library Association

Tashia Miller headshot

ALA Councillor:
Tashia Miller 
Reference and Outreach Librarian
Washtenaw Community College Library

Christine Peele Headshot

Executive Committee:
Christine Peele 
Branch Manager
Detroit Public Library

Randy Riley headshot

Randy Riley 
State Librarian
Library of Michigan

Cathleen Russ headshot

Executive Committee:
Cathleen Russ 

Library Director
West Bloomfield Township Public Library

Shannon Torres headshot

Shannon Torres
Past President
Michigan Association for Media in Education (MAME)

Kate Van Auken headshot

Kate Van Auken
White Pine Library Cooperative

Sophia Ward Brewer headshot

Sophia Ward Brewer  
Serials and Collection Librarian
Grand Rapids Community College Library and Learning Commons

 Lisa Waskin headshot

Lisa Waskin
Superior District Library



Uniting the Michigan Library Community

MLA is proud to partner with organizations serving the library community.

Friends of Michigan Libraries logo