

EQUITY, DIVERSITY, ACCESSIBILITY AND BELONGING STATEMENT 2024

The Michigan Library Association (MLA) Board of Directors, staff, and ambassadors pledge to engage in a sustained effort to create a culture that recognizes, enhances and promotes equity, diversity and accessibility for Michigan's library community. At the same time, MLA is steadfast in modeling an organization where our board, staff, ambassadors and members feel a strong sense of belonging and acceptance, where voices are heard, acknowledged and acted upon.

In order to do this, we will:

- Assure that all organizational leadership, staff and ambassadors embrace the values of mutual respect and dignity for all persons when looking at our internal practices and policies with relation to governance, employment, and committee/workgroup service, ensuring equality of opportunity that is free from unfair discrimination and harassment.
- Embrace, respect, and adhere to the Elliott-Larsen Civil Rights Act.
- Ensure open, responsive and respectful communication with any, and all stakeholders.
- Create strong collaborations and partnerships ensuring that all interactions regarding issues of equity, diversity, inclusion and accessibility, are reflective and responsive to the needs of the diverse state we serve.
- Continually monitor and evaluate our internal and external activities to ensure we are providing an environment that makes all feel a sense of belonging, and welcomes equality and diversity in all its forms. This, above all else, will allow MLA to create a culture of shared values and cross-cultural understanding.

MLA is committed to advancing our work to be more equitable, diverse, inclusive, accessible, and welcoming across the state, including embracing and supporting the rich socio-economic, physical, cultural, racial and ethnic differences that make-up the Michigan library community and the residents they serve.

MLA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Dillon Geshel Dillon Geshel, President

Jenny Marr, President-Elect

Lisa Waskin, Secretary/Treasurer

Angela Badke, Board Member

John Clexton, Board Member

Anne Heidemann, Board Member

Michele Howard, Board Member

Mary Johnson Mary Johnson, Board Member

Shaunna Martz Shaunna Martz, Board Member Gaire Meeker, Board Member

Valerie L. Meyerson Valerie L. Meyerson, Board Member

Deborah E. Mikula, Ex Officio Board Member

Tashia Miller Tashia Miller, ALA Councilor

Christine Peele Christine Peele, Board Member

Kundy Kley Randy Riley, Ex Officio Board Member

Erin Schmandt Erin Schmandt, Board Member

Sophia Ward Brewer, Board Member

MLA STAFF

Deborah E. Mikula, Executive Director

Fachel Ash, Membership and Communications Director

Keeley Briggs, Membership and Program Coordinator

Lisa Buttigieg, Administrative Assistant

Amber Sheerin Amber Sheerin, Program and Event Director